fbpx
Bangkok One News
Home » Rugby World Cup quarter finals and kick off times confirmed
Bangkok News Rugby Sports News

Rugby World Cup quarter finals and kick off times confirmed

The quarter-finalists for the 2023 Rugby World Cup have been determined, with France, New Zealand, Ireland, South Africa, Wales, Fiji, England, and Argentina advancing from the pool stages. Hosts France and the All Blacks secured their spots in the playoffs by finishing first and second in Pool A, respectively. France will square off against defending champions, South Africa, in the quarter-finals, while New Zealand, as runners-up in Pool A, will face the Pool B winners, Ireland, who enter the match on a 17-Test winning streak.

England emerged victorious in their final Pool D match against Samoa, earning them a top spot in their pool and setting up a quarter-final clash with Fiji, who famously defeated England in a World Cup warm-up match. Lastly, Wales finished at the top of Pool C, winning all four of their fixtures, and will face Argentina, who secured their place in the playoffs with a crucial victory against Japan. As the eight qualifying teams move on to the knockouts, 12 teams bid farewell to the competition, with Australia’s early exit from the pool stages marking a historic moment for them. Although Italy, Scotland, Australia, and Japan have been eliminated, they have secured automatic qualification for the 2027 Rugby World Cup in Australia.

Uruguay, Namibia, Tonga, Romania, Georgia, Portugal, Samoa, and Chile will need to qualify for the next global showpiece after finishing either fourth or fifth in their respective pools. The quarter-final action will commence in Marseille, with Wales taking on Argentina, followed by Ireland facing New Zealand at the Stade de France in Saint-Denis near Paris. The following day, England and Fiji will collide in Marseille, with France and South Africa concluding the quarter-final matches at the Stade de France. The winners of the Wales vs. Argentina match will face the winners of the Ireland vs. New Zealand match in the semi-finals.

Rugby World Cup quarter-final fixtures

Saturday, October 14

Wales v Argentina
Venue: Stade de Marseille, Marseille
Kick-off: 17:00 local (16:00 BST, 15:00 GMT)

Ireland v New Zealand
Venue: Stade de France, Saint-Denis
Kick-off: 21:00 local (20:00 BST, 19:00 GMT)

Sunday, October 15

England v Fiji
Venue: Stade de Marseille, Marseille
Kick-off: 17:00 local (16:00 BST, 15:00 GMT)

France v South Africa
Venue: Stade de France, Saint-Denis
Kick-off: 21:00 local (20:00 BST, 19:00 GMT)

READ MORE: https://bangkokone.news

For more information go to planetrugby.com

Image

Translate »
Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial